Review 2018

    • 15th Confocal Raman Imaging Symposium

      The 15th Confocal Raman Imaging Symposium was like a big family reunion with both familiar and new faces. Scientists from numerous fields of application were invited to Ulm to discuss the latest developments in confocal Raman microscopy. The evening lecture was given by the science comedian and physicist Vince Ebert, who entertained the international audience with precise and observant humor.

      The review of Raman Symposium 2018 can be read in German or in English and you may browse through the abstract book for more information on the talks and posters.

    • WITec Symposium 2018 Participants website
      The attendees of the 2018 Symposium in the lecture hall of the Stadthaus in Ulm. (Click to download high-resolution image.)

Poster Award 2018

  • The Poster Award 2018 was presented at the traditional conference dinner which took place in the Ratskeller in the historic City Hall of Ulm. This year, the jury consisted of Bo Peng (University of Electronic Science and Technology, Chengdu, China), Katarzyna Marzec (Jagiellonian University, Krakow, Poland) and Joachim Koenen (CEO WITec). They awarded the poster prize to Dieter Fischer (Leibniz Institute of Polymer Research, Dresden, Germany) for his work on microplastic particle analysis. His poster presented an "Analytical approach for identification and quantification of microplastic particles in aquatic samples by a combination of particle analysis with FTIR and Raman microscopy". For efficient analysis, the microplastic particles from water samples are divided into fractions according to their size. Raman microscopy and FTIR complement each other in identifying the material of each particle. Raman spectroscopy is able to identify much smaller (down to 1 µm) particles than FTIR, while measurement times are usually shorter in FTIR.

  • WITec Poster Award 2018 website
    From left to right: Bo Peng (jury member), Dieter Fischer (award winner), Katarzyna Marzec (jury member) and Joachim Koenen (CEO WITec).